Select Currency

Shopping Cart
Sub Total:£0.00
Home > Rare and Collectable Vinyl, CD's & DVD's
Led Zeppelin : The complete BBC sessions
Led Zeppelin : The complete BBC sessions
Our Price: £169.71

Led Zeppelin were an English rock band formed in London in 1968. The group consisted of guitarist Jimmy Page, singer Robert Plant, bassist and keyboardist John Paul Jones, and drummer John Bonham. The band's heavy, guitar-driven sound has led them to be cited as one of the progenitors of heavy metal, though their unique style drew from a wide variety of influences, including bluespsychedelia, and folk music.

After changing their name from the New Yardbirds, Led Zeppelin signed a deal with Atlantic Records that afforded them considerable artistic freedom. Although the group was initially unpopular with critics, they achieved significant commercial success with albums such as Led Zeppelin (1969), Led Zeppelin II (1969), Led Zeppelin III (1970), Led Zeppelin IV(1971), Houses of the Holy (1973), Physical Graffiti (1975) and In Through the Out Door (1979). Their fourth album, which features the song "Stairway to Heaven", is among the most popular and influential works in rock music, and it helped to secure the group's popularity.

Page wrote most of Led Zeppelin's music, particularly early in their career, while Plant generally supplied the lyrics. Jones' keyboard-based compositions later became central to the group's catalogue, which featured increasing experimentation. The latter half of their career saw a series of record-breaking tours that earned the group a reputation for excess and debauchery. Although they remained commercially and critically successful, their output and touring schedule were limited during the late 1970s, and the group disbanded following Bonham's death from alcohol-related asphyxia in 1980. In the decades that followed, the surviving members sporadically collaborated and participated in one-off Led Zeppelin reunions. The most successful of these was the 2007 Ahmet Ertegun Tribute Concert in London, with Jason Bonham taking his late father's place behind the drums.

Led Zeppelin are widely considered one of the most successful, innovative, and influential rock groups in history. They are one of the best-selling music artists in the history of audio recording; various sources estimate the group's record sales at 200 to 300 million units worldwide. With RIAA-certified sales of 111.5 million units, they are the second-best-selling band in the US. Each of their nine studio albums placed in the top 10 of the Billboard album chart and six reached the number-one spot. They achieved eight consecutive UK number-one albums. Rolling Stone magazine described them as "the heaviest band of all time", "the biggest band of the Seventies", and "unquestionably one of the most enduring bands in rock history". They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1995; the museum's biography of the band states that they were "as influential" during the 1970s as the Beatles were during the 1960s.

BBC Sessions is a compilation album featuring studio sessions and a live concert recorded by English rock group Led Zeppelin for the BBC. It was released on 11 November 1997, by Atlantic Records. This was the first release of new Led Zeppelin material in seven years. Disc one consists of material from four different 1969 BBC sessions. Disc two contains most of the 1 April 1971 concert from the Paris Theatre in London. Disc three was only included in a limited run of album releases and features rare interviews from 1969, 1976/1977, and 1990.

Countless bootlegs of these recordings circulated for years before the official release. This release was widely welcomed by Led Zeppelin fans as it was the first live release since The Song Remains the Same in 1976. Others have criticized the decision to edit some of the songs and drop others that were recorded for the BBC. Most notable are one session from 1969 which included the unreleased song "Sunshine Woman", and about seven minutes of the "Whole Lotta Love" medley from 1971. The album was re-released in September 2016 as The Complete BBC Sessions with further BBC recordings, including the "Sunshine Woman" session.

Track list..

A1 You Shook Me 5:14
A2 I Can't Quit You Baby 4:22
A3 Communication Breakdown 3:12
A4 Dazed And Confused 6:39
B1 The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair 3:00
B2 What Is And What Should Never Be 4:20
B3 Communication Breakdown 2:40
B4 Travelling Riverside Blues 5:12
C1 Whole Lotta Love 6:09
C2 Somethin' Else 2:06
C3 Communication Breakdown 3:05
C4 I Can't Quit You Baby 6:21
D1 You Shook Me 10:19
D2 How Many More Times 11:51
E1 Immigrant Song 3:20
E2 Heartbreaker 5:16
E3 Since I've Been Loving You 6:56
E4 Black Dog 5:17
F Dazed And Confused 18:36
G1 Stairway To Heaven 8:49
G2 Going To California 3:54
G3 That's The Way 5:43
H1 Whole Lotta Love (Medley): Boogie Chillun' / Fixin' To Die / That's Alright Mama / A Mess Of Blues 13:45
H2 Thank You 6:37
I1 Communication Breakdown 3:00
I2 What Is And What Should Never Be 4:15
I3 Dazed And Confused 11:08
I4 White Summer 8:23
J1 What Is And What Should Never Be 4:44
J2 Communication Breakdown 4:55
J3 I Can't Quit You Baby 5:27
J4 You Shook Me 4:10
J5 Sunshine Woman 3:06

Customer Reviews
Write an online review and share your thoughts with other shoppers!


The  Reflex Rockshop is upfrontThe Reflex Rockshop is UpFront

Terms & Conditions - Sitemap